125 W. Jennings St.
The white frame Greek Revival house at 125 West Jennings Street has various appellations: The Darby-Cook House, the Noel Cottage, and the Cook-Van Horn Home. All are generally considered valid.
The original house was built in about 1855 by John V. Darby and his son John H. Darby, grandson and great-grandson of John Sprinkle. Since that time, until 1970, it was continuously occupied by Sprinkle’s descendants, including the young Darbys, Noels, and Cooks. In 1946 Freda and Bess Cook were joined by Mark and Nora Van Horn in joint ownership, which eventually terminated in their retirement to Greenwood, Indiana.
In 1950, well-known Evansville and Newburgh architect Early Warweg planned and executed a major restoration of the house. The front portion was brought to its original classic Greek Revival facade, including the front two rooms, and many parts of the home – doors, transoms, slide lights, etc. – were retained. The portico and pediments were duplicated, as well as the original window frames and sashes. The south portion was expanded and modernized, but remained in keeping with the architectural style.
The charming proportions of this house create an intimate, cozy appearance and this has endeared the house to Newburgh residents.